Shadowlands Alpha build 34081: What’s New?

Blizzard Entertainment deployed the first build update since Shadowlands Alpha started. Build 34081 was over 1.2GB in file size. These are some of the updates found so far.


Aspirant Souls now have more variety than the Kyrian only and simple anima. Now you can find Goblins, Forsaken, Tauren, Orcs, Humans, Dwarves, Night Elves, Blood Elves, Pandaren, and other races. I haven’t found Allied Races yet.

Theorycrafting: Beyond Classic Burning Crusade

With Blizzard entering the fourth phase of WoW Classic, one has to wonder if Blizzard plans to launch a Classic Burning Crusade server. Recently, a survey sent to players hinted at just that.

However, do WoW Classic players really want Blizzard to launch Classic Burning Crusade, then Classic Wrath of the Lich King? Or stay stuck with Burning Crusade and stop there?

When does Classic stops being Classic anymore?

Wrath of the Lich King, for example added a lot of classes and systems changes, and brand-new mechanics to the game.

Does the Classic WoW community really want this to happen?

On the other hand, what if Blizzard went a different path instead?


For example, what if Blizzard stuck to the way the original WoW game was supposed to happen without the influence of bad decisions taken, or without the setbacks that plagued them back in the day in terms of limitations of the infrastructure, etc.?

Back in the day, Chris Metzen said at BlizzCon 2005 that their plan was to open the portals of Outland. Don’t take my word for it… watch the video at 4:46.

WoW Classic: Rise of the Blood god

Blizzard Entertainment launched today the fourth phase of World of Warcraft Classic – which includes the Corrupted Emerald Dream dragons and Rise of the Blood god… alias Hakkar in the Zul’Gurub raid dungeon.

Deep within the jungles of Stranglethorn, an old evil stirs in the ancient troll city of Zul’Gurub. Adventurers will need to gather 19 of their strongest allies to delve deep into the mysteries of this newly released WoW Classic raid zone, once the jewel of the Gurubashi troll tribe.

Meanwhile, the Dragons of Nightmare have made their way to Azeroth, and champions of the Horde and the Alliance will need to amass as many allies as they can to defeat them at four key portal entry points throughout Azeroth.

Shadowlands: New Zone Levels

With the new level scaling in Shadowlands, setting BFA max level players down from level 120 to level 50 — the question remains: What is the new zone levels across each continent?

Here I will share what the zone levels look like in the Shadowlands expansion.

You can enter the continents at these basic intro levels:

  • Outland and Northrend at level 24.
  • Pandaria at level 30.
  • Draenor at level 35.
  • Broken Isles at level 40.
  • Kul Tiras and Zandalar break the mold as you can enter it at level 10.

Blizzard Entertainment gives you the option how and where to level up a new or low level character. Very flexible. The easiest way is to jump from level 10 to Kul Tiras (Alliance) or Zandalar (Horde), and reach level 50 by playing in Battle for Azeroth content. Then jump at level 50 into Shadowlands.

Shadowlands: Bastion Locations Map

After a few hours of exploration, I put together a map that marks all the locations. Among the quest hubs for level 50-53 are:

  • The Vestibule of Eternity
  • Aspirant’s Rest
  • Aspirant’s Crucible
  • Crucible Overlook
  • Korinna’s Conservatory
  • Hero’s Rest
  • Forgefire Outpost
  • Xandria’s Vigil
  • Agthia’s Repose
  • Elysian Hold

To view a 5000px larger map, right-click the image and select Open in a New Window.

Shadowlands: The Shattered Sky of Icecrown (Torghast)

In the Shadowlands Alpha it is quite difficult to get to Icecrown as any new level 50 characters spawn in at the Vestibule of Eternity in Bastion with no way to leave Shadowlands (at least for now).

There is no character copy either. So the only way to get to Icecrown is by leveling up a new character in the new Exile’s Reach Isle level 1-10 experience, then reaching Stormwind to take the boat to Borean Tundra.

Luckily, level 10 players have the Dalaran flightpath enabled — there are two flight points enabled in Northrend from Borean Tundra (if you are Alliance): Dalaran and Valgarde Port (Howling Fjord).

Sadly, umm… the Violet Stand Crystal at The Violet Gate requires level 25 to teleport down to Crystalsong Forest… so… the only way down at level 10+ is climbing to the wall at this location in Krasus’ Landing and skydiving — if you get my drift.

Exile’s Reach – New Shadowlands Level 1-10 Experience

Blizzard Entertainment is revamping the level 1-10 gameplay experience by unifying most races and classes into completing a series of quests in the Exile’s Reach Isle. The Death Knight and Demon Hunter classes; the Allied Races; and the Pandaren Monk are the exception.

World of Warcraft: Shadows Rising Pre-Orders

Update (April 10) — Random House provided via email a summary and the front cover of World of Warcraft: Shadows Rising.

Penned by New York Times bestselling author Madeleine Roux, Shadows Rising is the next epic tale in the World of Warcraft novel series and takes place during the aftermath of Sylvanas Windrunner’s betrayal of the Horde. The prequel novel releases on July 14, 2020, yet fans can pre-order now.


“The Horde is nothing!” With those infamous words, Sylvanas Windrunner betrayed and abandoned the Horde she vowed to serve. The Dark Lady and her forces now work in the shadows as both the Horde and Alliance, including her own sister, Alleria, race to uncover her next move. Struggling to shoulder the crushing weight of leadership, King Anduin entrusts the void elf and High Exarch Turalyon to uncover Sylvanas’s whereabouts.

The Horde now stands at a crossroads. The various factions form a council, leaving the mantle of warchief to rest. Thrall, Lor’themar Theron, Baine Bloodhoof, First Arcanist Thalyssra, and many other familiar faces rise to this new challenge. But the threats are numerous, and the distrust runs too deep.

When the council is derailed by a failed assassination attempt on Talanji—the Zandalari queen and a key ally—Thrall and the rest of the Horde leaders are forced into action. They empower the young troll shaman Zekhan, still grieving the loss of Varok Saurfang, with a critical mission to aid Talanji and help uncover the rising threat against her.

Meanwhile, Nathanos Blightcaller and Sira Moonwarden have been tasked by the Dark Lady with a terrifying gambit: to kill the troll loa of death himself, Bwonsamdi.

As Zekhan and Talanji work to save Bwonsamdi, their journey will be a key turning point in bolstering the Horde against the coming darkness and finding themselves along the way. Failure to save their allies and the trickster god will surely doom them—but through success, they may rediscover what makes the Horde strong.

Originally posted on February 10, 2020.

Very early in the morning today, the World of Warcraft: Shadows Rising novel by Madeleine Roux appeared with a book description and the pre-order page.

The novel features Sylvanas, Nathanos, Zekhan, Alleria, Turalyon, and several leaders of the Alliance and the Horde.

Sylvanas has given Nathanos and Sira Moonwarden a terrible assassination order. One that will reverberate among Warcraft lore scholars: “how?”

Pre-order is available as Hardcover and Digital (Kindle) — which can be read in the PC app or with Firefox/Chrome/Edge

© 2018 Blizzplanet - Read our Privacy Policy; and Terms and Conditions

©2004-2018 Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. All rights reserved. World of Warcraft, Warcraft and Blizzard Entertainment are trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. in the U.S. and/or other countries.